New Releases (CDs + Vinyl)

ANOHNI and the Johnsons“My Back Was a Bridge For You To Cross” (British-born, NYC-based artist’s sixth album and her first since 2016; producer: Jimmy Hogarth; new single: “It Must Change”; See here; Vinyl; Amazon UK; Download) (Secretly Canadian)
Bloodbound“Tales From the North” (Swedish power metal band’s 10th album; producers: Bloodbound; new single: “Odin’s Prayer”; See here; Smokey Black Vinyl; Amazon UK; Download; Apple Music; On Tour) (AFM)
Julie Byrne“The Greater Wings” (singer-songwriter’s first album in six years; producer: Alex Somers; new single: “Summer Glass”; See here; Read here; Vinyl; Amazon UK; Download; Apple Music; On Tour) (Ghostly International)
Gus Dapperton“Henge” (alt-pop artist’s major label debut album; new single: “Don’t Let Me Down,” feat. BENEE; See here; Vinyl; Amazon UK; Download; Apple Music; On Tour, with Hippo Campus) (Warner)
EXO“Exist” (K-pop group’s seventh album; new single: “Let Me In”; See here) (SM Entertainment, July 10)
Dominic Fike“Sunburn” (producer: Jim-E-Stack; new single: “Ant Pile”; See here; Read here; Amazon UK; Download; Apple Music) (Columbia)
Grouplove“I Want It All Right Now” (Atlanta-based alt-rock group’s sixth album; producer: John Congleton; new singles: “All” and “Hello”; See here; Vinyl; Amazon UK; Download; Apple Music; On Tour) (Glassnote)
PJ Harvey“I Inside the Old Year Dying” (her first album in seven years; producers: Flood, John Parish; new single: “A Child’s Question, August”; See here; Vinyl; Amazon UK; Download; Apple Music) (Partisan)
Little Dragon“Slugs of Love” (Swedish quartet’s seventh album; guests: Damon Albarn, JID; new single: “Kenneth”; See here; Amazon UK; Apple Music) (Ninja Tune)
Local Natives“Time Will Wait for No One” (producer: John Congleton; new single: “NYE”; See here; Vinyl; Download; Apple Music; On Tour) (Loma Vista Recordings / Concord)
Miles Miller“Solid Gold” (solo debut album; producer: Sturgill Simpson; new single: “Solid Gold”; Hear here; Vinyl; Download; Apple Music; On Tour) (Easy Lovin / Thirty Tigers)
The Raven Age“Blood Omen” (British metal band’s third album; producer: Matt Hyde; new single: “Parasite”; See here; Vinyl; Amazon UK; Download; Apple Music; On Tour) (Music For Nations / Sony Music Entertainment)
Chris Stamey“The Great Escape” (with two bonus tracks; guests: Don Dixon, Caitlin Cary, Will Rigby, Peter Holsapple, Eric Heywood, et al; Download; Apple Music) (Car Records / Schoolkids)
Nita Strauss“The Call of the Void” (Alice Cooper guitarist’s second solo album; new single: “The Golden Trail”; See here; Read here; Royal Blue w/ White Vinyl; Amazon UK; Download; Apple Music; On Tour) (Sumerian)
Taylor Swift“Speak Now (Taylor’s Version)” (Double CD; re-recording of her third album from 2010, featuring new collaborations with Hayley Williams and Fall Out Boy; among the 22 tracks are six new “From the Vault” songs that were written for the album but never included; Orchid Marbled Vinyl, three LPs; Target-Exclusive Lilac Marbled Vinyl, three LPs; Amazon UK; Double Cassette; Download; Apple Music; On Tour; Merch) (Republic)
Various artists“The Endless Coloured Ways: The Songs of Nick Drake” (23-track tribute to the late singer, featuring covers by Feist, Fontaines D.C., David Gray, Liz Phair, Ben Harper, Bombay Bicycle Club, Emeli Sandé, Let’s Eat Grandma, John Grant, Self Esteem, Guy Garvey, et al; See here; Amazon UK; Download; Apple Music) (Chrysalis)

New Releases (Downloads)

Artist: Title: Label:
Fred Abbott + The Wild Unknown “Shining Under the Soot” (led by the former Noah & The Whale guitarist; new single: “The Way Out Is Through the Door”; See here; Amazon UK; Apple Music) (Lojinx)
Butcher Babies “Eye for an Eye …” (seven-song album) , “…’Til the World’s Blind” (14-track album; new single: “Last December”; Hear here; On Tour, with Mudvayne) (Century Media)
The Manic Boys and Girls Club “The Manic Boys and Girls Club” (Toronto alt-rock duo, made up of siblings Bela and Fernando Ferreira; five-song EP; producer: Gavin Brown; new single: “Lose My Mind”; See here; Apple Music) (Liberdade, July 13)
Noble Oak “When It Finds You” (new single: “River’s Edge”; See here; Apple Music) (Last Gang Records / MNRK Music Group)
The Pink Spiders “Freakazoid” (Nashville rock band’s fifth album; new single: “Devotion”; See here; Vinyl; Apple Music; On Tour) (Pure Noise)
Lifeguard “Dressed in Trenches” (five-song live session recorded by Steve Albini at Electrical Audio; new single: “Alarm”; See here; Apple Music; On Tour) (Matador)
12 Rods “If We Stayed Alive” (Minneapolis rock band’s first album in 21 years; new single: “My Year [This Is Going To Be]”; Hear here; Read here; Apple Music) (American Dreams)

Reissues (CDs + Vinyl)

Jackson Browne“Running On Empty” (1977 live album, featuring the title track, “The Road,” “The Load-Out” and “Stay”; remastered; Vinyl; On Tour) (Inside Recordings)
The Spencer Davis Group“A’s and B’s 1964-1967” (37 songs on two CDs; remastered; Amazon UK) (BGO)
Flamin’ Groovies“Rockin’ the Roundhouse” (live recordings from London shows in 1976 and 1978; CD version has two bonus tracks: a Courettes mix of “Shake Some Action” and an alternate version of “Slow Death”; Hear here; Amazon UK; Download; Apple Music) (Cleopatra)
Rory Gallagher“All Around Man – Live in London” (two-CD set includes a previously unreleased concert from his late 1990 tour; mixed from the recently found multitracks and mastered at Abbey Road; Hear here; Triple Vinyl; Amazon UK; Download; Apple Music) (UMe)
Dizzy Gillespie“1961-1964: The Classic Philips Albums” (eight albums on four CDs; remastered) (Enlightenment)
Janet Jackson“janet. (Deluxe Edition)” (1993 album, feturing six Top 10 singles, including the No. 1 hits “That’s the Way Love Goes” and “Again”; remastered, with seven bonus tracks; Read here; On Tour) (Capitol / JDJ / UMe)
Drew McDowall“Lamina” (six-CD box set contains expanded editions of the Scottish electronic pioneer’s four most recent albums, with rarities and live performances; Hear here) (Dais)
Ray Price“Four Classic Albums Plus” (“Ray Price Sings Heart Songs,” “Talk To Your Heart,” “San Antonio Rose” and “Ray Price’s Greatest Hits” on two CDs; remastered, with eight bonus tracks) (Avid Country)
Suede (aka The London Suede)“Suede (30th Anniversary Edition)” (Mercury Prize-winning 1993 debut album, featuring “Animal Nirate,” “Metal Mickey,” “So Young” and “The Drowners”; mastered from the original tapes at AIR Mastering and overseen by album producer Ed Buller; two-CD set includes B-sides and an eight-page booklet with lyrics; Half-Speed Master Vinyl; Amazon UK) (Edsel Records / Demon Music Group)
Mel Tormé“Four Classic Albums” (“It’s a Blue World,” “Sings Fred Astaire,” “California Suite [1957 Version]” and “Back in Town” on two CDs; remastered) (Avid Jazz)
Wham!“The Singles: Echoes from the Edge of Heaven” (16-track collection includes hit singles and B-sides; Read here; Double Vinyl; Amazon UK; Download) (Epic / Legacy)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.