Vance Joy must be jumping for joy. The Australian singer-songwriter has won the International Songwriting Competition and the $25,000 prize that comes with it.

His entry, “Riptide,” won the 2014 grand prize, scoring perfect scores across the board from the panel of celebrity judges. It’s the first time that has happened in the ISC’s 14-year history. Joy also landed more than $35,000 in merchandise and services.

The competition received more than 18,000 entries from 118 countries. This year’s music-industry judges included Sarah McLachlan, Avicii, Sara Evans, Wayne Shorter, Jason Isbell, Bastille, Craig Kallman (chairman and CEO, Atlantic Records), Dan McCarroll (president, Warner Bros. Records), Jeff Castelaz (president, Elektra Records) and more.

See the complete list of winners at:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.