New releases

Published on March 16th, 2019 | by Gerry Galipault


New Releases: Sept. 6, 2019

New Releases (CDs / Vinyl)

Artist: Title: Label:
Bat for Lashes “Lost Girls” (new single: “Kids in the Dark”; Hear here; Vinyl; Download) (AWAL)
The Brand New Heavies “TBNH” (guests: N’Dea Davenport, Angie Stone, Siedah Garrett, Beverley Knight, Angela Ricci, Simon Bartholomew, Laville, Jack Knight, Honey Larochelle; first single: “Getaway,” feat. N’Dea Davenport; Hear here; See here; Vinyl; Download; On Tour) (Acid Jazz)
Paul Cauthen “Room 41” (first single: “Cocaine Country Dancing”; See here; Vinyl; Download; On Tour, with Randy Houser) (Lightning Rod)
Barns Courtney (U.K. singer-songwriter) “404” (producers: Courtney, Sam Battle; first singles: “You & I” and “’99′”; See here; Vinyl; Download; iTunes; On Tour) (Capitol)
Frankie Cosmos “Close It Quietly” (producers: Frankie Cosmos, Gabe Wax; first single: “Windows”; See here; Vinyl; Cassette; Download; On Tour) (Sub Pop)
Crystal Gayle “You Don’t Know Me” (her first album in nearly 16 years includes “Put It Off Until Tomorrow,” with sisters Peggy Sue Wright and Loretta Lynn; producers: Gayle, son Christos Gatzimos; first single: “Ribbon of Darkness”) (Southpaw Musical Productions / BFD / The Orchard)
Grayscale “Nella Vita” (producer: Machine; new single: “In Violet”; See here; Vinyl; Download; On Tour) (Fearless)
Adam Green (formerly of The Moldy Peaches) “Engine of Paradise” (guests: Florence Welch, Jonathan Rado; first single: “Freeze My Love”; See here; Amazon UK; Vinyl; On Tour) (30th Century)
Roland Guerin (Dr. John’s music director and bassist) “Grass Roots” (See here; Download) (Louisiana Red Hot)
Ashley Henry (U.K. pianist) “Beautiful Vinyl Hunter” (guests: Makaya McCraven, Keyon Harrold, Moses Boyd, Judi Jackson, Theo Croker, etc.; first single: “The Mighty”; Hear here; Amazon UK; Vinyl; Download; iTunes) (Sony Music)
The Highwomen (Maren Morris, Brandi Carlile, Amanda Shires and Natalie Hemby) “The Highwomen” (first single: “Redesigning Women”; Hear here; See here; Download) (Low Country Sound / Elektra)
Chrissie Hynde with the Valve Bone Woe Ensemble “Valve Bone Woe” (jazz-dub side project with producers and film score composers Marius de Vries and Eldad Guetta; first singles: “Caroline, No” and “You Don’t Know What Love Is”; Vinyl; Download; iTunes) (BMG Rights Management)
Steve Lacy (guitarist of space-soul band The Internet) “Apollo XXI” (Hear here; Amazon UK; Vinyl; Download, released on May 24; iTunes) (3QTR)
Lower Dens “The Competition” (first single: “Young Republicans”; See here; Vinyl; Download; iTunes) (Ribbon Music)
Melanie Martinez “K-12” (Read here) (Atlantic)
MUNA (L.A.-based electro-pop trio) “Saves the World” (first single: “Number One Fan”; See here; Vinyl; Download) (RCA)
Iggy Pop “Free” (first single: “Free”; Hear here; Vinyl; Download; Merch) (Loma Vista)
Amy Speace “Me and the Ghost of Charlemagne” (producer: Neilson Hubbard; first single: “Me and the Ghost of Charlemagne”; Hear here; On Tour) (Proper)
Status Quo “Backbone” (their 33rd studio album and first without singer-guitarist Rick Parfitt, who died on Dec. 24, 2016; Hear here; Vinyl; Download; On Tour; Merch) (earMUSIC)
Lindsey Stirling “Artemis” (first single: “Underground”; See here; Target-Exclusive CD, with two extra songs; On Tour) (BMG Rights Management)

New Releases (Downloads)

Artist: Title: Label:
Moonchild (L.A. neo-soul trio) “Little Ghost” (first single: “Too Much to Ask”; See here) (eOne Music)

Reissues (CDs / Vinyl)

Artist: Title: Label:
The Allman Brothers Band “Fillmore West ’71” (four-CD set capturing their three-show stint, Jan. 29-31, in San Francisco, two months before their legendary Fillmore East performance; Hear here; Read here; Merch) (Allman Brothers Band Recording Company / The Orchard)
Black Sabbath “The Black Sabbath Collection 1970-1978 [Vinyl]” (10-LP box set; Merch) (Rhino / Warner)
Miles Davis “Rubberband” (1985 album was intended to be his first for Warner but was shelved; now completed by the original producers, Randy Hall and Zane Giles, with Davis’ nephew, Vince Wilburn Jr., who also performed on the album; Hear here; Read here; Vinyl; Download; Merch) (Rhino / Warner)

Next Week: Sept. 13, 2019

July 26 | Aug. 2 | Aug. 9 | Aug. 16 | Aug. 23 | Aug. 30

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About the Author

Gerry Galipault debuted Pause & Play online in October 1997. Since then, it has become the definitive place for CD-release dates — with a worldwide audience.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to Top ↑