Pause & Play

New Releases: March 20, 2020

The Weeknd

[sc name=”Disclosure”]

New Releases (CDs / Vinyl)

Artist: Title: Label:
Kelsea Ballerini “kelsea” (new single: “la”; See here; Vinyl; Urban Outfitters-Exclusive Opaque White Vinyl; Download; Apple Music; On Tour) (Black River Entertainment)
David Clayton-Thomas “Say Somethin'” (Hear here; Download; Apple Music; On Tour) (Linus Entertainment)
Roger Eno and Brian Eno “Mixing Colours” (their first album together; first single: “Celeste”; Hear here; Read here; Vinyl; Download; Apple Music) (Opal Music / Deutsche Grammophon)
Fireside Collective “Elements” (Hear here; Download; Apple Music; On Tour) (Mountain Home)
Conan Gray (21-year-old pop singer-songwriter) “Kid Krow” (new single: “The Story”; See here; Vinyl; Urban Outfitters-Exclusive Cassette; Download; Apple Music) (Republic)
Adam Lambert “Velvet” (new single: “Roses,” feat Nile Rodgers; Hear here; Read here; Target-Exclusive CD, with two photo cards; Download; Apple Music; On Tour, solo; On Tour, with Queen) (More Is More LLC / EMPIRE)
Gordon Lightfoot “Solo” (his first album of new material in more than 15 years features 10 rediscovered tracks that he re-recorded with just his guitar; first single: “Oh So Sweet”; Hear here; Read here; Download; Apple Music; On Tour) (Rhino)
Missing Persons featuring Dale Bozzio “Dreaming” (their first album in six years is a mixture of covers and original songs; producer: Adam Hamilton; first single: “Incense and Peppermints”; Hear here; Vinyl; Download; Apple Music; Target) (Cleopatra)
Morrissey “I Am Not a Dog On a Chain” (producer: Joe Chiccarelli; first single: “Bobby, Don’t You Think They Know?,” feat. Thelma Houston; Hear here; Read here; Vinyl; Download; Apple Music; Merch) (BMG Rights Management)
Carla Olson “Have Harmony, Will Travel 2” (producer: Olson; guests: Timothy B. Schmit, Peter Noone, Terry Reid, Mare Winningham, Stephen McCarthy, Vince Melouney, etc., plus archival recordings with Percy Sledge and Gene Clark; Hear/read here) (Sunset Blvd.)
Sultans of String (Canadian quintet) “Refuge” (an album of collaborations with 30 musicians, many of whom fled their native lands for their safety and artistic freedom; guests: Iraqi violinist Imah Al Taha, Béla Fleck, Somali poet Ifrah Mansour, Iranian santur master Amir Amiri, etc.; Hear here; Download) (Sony / RED)
Tower of Power “Step Up” (first single: “Step Up”; Vinyl; Download; Apple Music; On Tour) (Artistry Music)
The Weeknd “After Hours” (producers: Max Martin, Metro Boomin, Oscar Holter, The Weeknd, Ricky Reed, etc.; new single: “After Hours”; Hear here; See here; Target-Exclusive CD, with alternate cover; Download; Apple Music; Merch) (XO / Republic)

More Releases for March 20, 2020 »

Other Notable Releases

“Dark Angeles,” Art of Shock (Century Media)
“Kingdom of the Sun,” Sammy Boller (Candyrat)
“Hopeless Romantics,” Emmrose (Emmrose)
“Of Truth and Sacrifice,” Heaven Shall Burn (Century Media)
“Afterglow,” Mike Mattison (Landslide)
“nightsongs,” Yael Naïm (tôt Ou tard)

[sc name=”Vinyl Releases”]

[sc name=”amazon-links” ]

New Releases (Downloads)

Artist: Title: Label:
Delta Rae (Nashville-based alt-Americana sextet) “The Light” (first single: “Take Me There”; Hear/read here; On Tour) (Never Die)
Eliza & The Delusionals (Aussie indie rock quartet) “A State of Living in an Objective Reality” (five-song EP; new single: “Pull Apart Heart”; Hear here; Apple Music; On Tour) (Cooking Vinyl)
Zebra Katz “LESS IS MOOR” (producers: Sega Bodega, Tony Quattro, Torus; guests: Shygirl, S. Ruston; new single: “ISH”; Hear here; Apple Music) (BMG Rights Management)
Låpsley “Through Water” (new single: “Speaking of the End”; See here; Apple Music) (XL Recordings)
Sea Wolf (aka Alex Brown Church) “Through a Dark Wood” (his first album in six years; first single: “Fear of Failure”; See here; Vinyl; Apple Music) (Dangerbird)
Juan María Solare “Numbered Places: Vol. 3” (producer: Solare; first single: “Nine Elms”; Hear here) (Bliss Recordings)
Eric Von Ehlers “Left With Only Memories” (first single: “Those Blue Eyes”; Hear here) (Eric Von Ehlers, March 24)

More Digital Releases for March 20, 2020 »

[sc name=”more-amazon-links” ]

Reissues (CDs / Vinyl)

Artist: Title: Label:
Def Leppard “The Early Years 79-81” (five-CD box set includes the band’s first two albums, 1980’s “On Through the Night” and 1981’s “High ‘N’ Dry,” both remastered, along with B-sides, rarities, Radio One sessions, “Live From Reading” and a previously unreleased Oxford show from 1980; Download; Apple Music; Target; On Tour this summer with Mötley Crüe, Poison and Joan Jett and the Blackhearts; Merch) (Mercury / UMe)
Elvis Presley “Elvis’ Golden Records [Vinyl]” (14-song compilation from 1958; Walmart-exclusive gold vinyl; Merch) (RCA / Legacy)
Game Theory “Across the Barrier of Sound: PostScript” (final recordings from the last Game Theory line-up featuring Michael Quercio, circa 1989-90; Hear here; Read here; Vinyl; Download) (Omnivore Recordings)
Elvis Presley “Elvis’ Golden Records [Vinyl]” (14-song compilation from 1958; Walmart-exclusive gold vinyl; Merch) (RCA / Legacy)
The Primitives “Bloom! The Full Story 1985-1992” (five-CD clamshell set, including albums, B-sides, cover versions, demos, BBC sessions and live recordings; Read here; Amazon UK; On Tour) (Cherry Red)
Sister Sledge “Thinking of You: The Atco / Cotillion / Atlantic Recordings (1973-1985)” (six-CD, 97-track box set containing eight full albums, bonus tracks and remixes; Read here; Amazon UK) (SoulMusic / Cherry Red)
Various artists “Attack: Warner Girl Group Nuggets Vol. 8” (21 songs; Track list), “Together: Warner Pop Rock Nuggets Vol. 13” (21 songs; Track list) (Japan – Warner Music)
Village People “The Album Collection 1977-1985” (10-CD box set; replica mini-sleeve wallets, with 24-page booklet; Track list; On Tour) (Edsel / Demon Music Group)

More Releases for March 20, 2020 »

[sc name=”Vinyl Releases”]

Next Week: March 27, 2020

Jan. 31 | Feb. 7 | Feb. 14 | Feb. 21 | Feb. 28 | March 6 | March 13

[sc name=”Disclosure”]

Exit mobile version