New releases

Published on March 13th, 2019 | by Gerry Galipault


New Releases: June 28, 2019

New Releases (CDs / Vinyl)

Artist: Title: Label:
Mindi Abair and the Boneshakers “No Good Deed” (first single: “Everybody Said”; Hear here; Vinyl; Download; iTunes) (Pretty Good for a Girl)
The Alarm “Sigma” (guests: Billy Duff, Dave Sharp; first single: “Blood Red Viral Black”; See here; Vinyl; Download; iTunes; On Tour) (21st Century)
The Allman Betts Band (Devon Allman + Duane Betts) “Down to the River” (the band also includes Berry Oakley Jr.; recorded at the famed Muscle Shoals Sound Studios; producer: Matt Ross-Spang; guests: Chuck Leavell, Peter Levin; producer: Matt Ross-Spang; first single: “All Night”; Hear here; Download; iTunes; On Tour) (BMG Rights Management)
The Black Keys ” ‘Let’s Rock’ “ (their first album in five years; producers: singer/guitarist Dan Auerbach, drummer Patrick Carney; new single: “Eagle Birds”; Hear here; Vinyl; Download; iTunes; On Tour; Merch) (Easy Eye Sound / Nonesuch)
Chase Atlantic “PHASES” (first single: “HER”; See here; Download; iTunes; On Tour) (MDNN / BMG Rights Management)
Daughter of Swords (Mountain Man’s Alexandra Sauser-Monnig) “Dawnbreaker” (new single: “Dawnbreaker”; See here; Vinyl; Download; iTunes) (Nonesuch)
The Doobie Brothers “The Doobie Brothers Live From The Beacon Theatre” (one night in November 2018, performing the albums “Toulouse Street” and “The Captain and Me” in their entirety; Hear here; CD + DVD; Blu-ray; Download; iTunes; On Tour, with Santana; Merch) (Rhino)
Generation Axe (Steve Vai, Yngwie Malmsteen, Zakk Wylde, Nuno Bettencourt and Tosin Abasi) “The Guitars That Destroyed the World (Live in China)” (See here; Vinyl; Download) (earMUSIC)
Gov’t Mule “Bring On the Music: Live at the Capitol Theatre” (one-CD, one-DVD, 21-song set recorded in Port Chester, NY, on April 27-28, 2018; the 9-camera video shoot was directed by music photographer and director Danny Clinch; See here; On Tour; Merch) (Provogue / Mascot Label Group)
Horse Jumper of Love “So Divine” (first single: “Poison”; See here; Vinyl; Download; iTunes; On Tour) (Run For Cover)
Jade Jackson “Wilderness” (producer: Mike Ness; first single: “Bottle It Up”; See here; Vinyl; Download; iTunes; On Tour) (ANTI- / Epitaph)
Mustard “Perfect 10” (guests: Migos, Quavo, 21 Savage, YG, Meek Mill, etc.; new single: “100 Bands”; Hear here; Read here; On Tour) (10 Summers / Interscope)
Heather Nova “Pearl” (producer: Youth; first single: “The Wounds We Bled”; See here; Vinyl; Download; iTunes; On Tour) (Saltwater Limited)
Pepper “Local Motion” (guests: Micah Brown, Stick Figure, Henry Fong, Jinco, E.N Young; first single: “Warning”; Hear here; Vinyl; Download; iTunes; On Tour, with Iration) (LAW)
Skepta (Mercury Prize-winning grime artist) “Ignorance Is Bliss” (Download, released on May 31; iTunes) (Boy Better Know)
The Small Glories (Winnipeg bluegrass duo) “Assiniboine & The Red” (first single: “Oh My Love”; Hear here; Vinyl; Download; iTunes) (Red House / Compass)
Chris Stamey and The ModRec Orchestra “New Songs for the 20th Century” (Double album written, arranged, produced and mixed by Stamey; guests: Branford Marsalis, Bill Frisell, Nels Cline, Peter Holsapple, Nnenna Freelon, Marshall Crenshaw, Don Dixon, Django Haskins, Caitlin Cary, etc.; Read here) (Omnivore Recordings)
Chris Staples “Holy Moly” (first single: “Everybody Said”; Hear here; Vinyl; Download; iTunes) (Barsuk)
The Tallest Man on Earth “I Love You. It’s A Fever Dream” (new single: “I’m a Stranger Now”; Hear here; NPR First Listen; Vinyl; released as Download on April 19; iTunes; On Tour) (Rivers / Birds / AWAL Recordings)
Foy Vance “From Muscle Shoals” (recorded at FAME Studios in Muscle Shoals, Ala.; his next album later this year, titled “To Memphis,” was recorded at Sam Phillips Recording studio in Memphis; producers: Vance, Ben Tanner; guests: Spooner Oldham, David Hood, etc.; first single: “You Love Are My Only”; Hear here; Download; iTunes; On Tour) (Gingerbread Man / Atlantic)
Various artists “Echo in the Canyon (Music From and Inspired by the Documentary Film)” (directed by Andrew Slater, the film explores the beginnings of the Laurel Canyon music scene, circa 1965-67; the soundtrack features new studio recordings of classics by The Byrds, The Mamas & The Papas and more, as interpreted by Jakob Dylan along with artists who appear in the film, including Fiona Apple, Stephen Stills, Neil Young, Beck, Cat Power, Eric Clapton, Norah Jones, Regina Spektor, etc.; See here; Download; iTunes) (BMG Rights Management)
Various artists “Rodgers & Hammerstein’s Oklahoma! (Broadway Cast Recording)” (revival cast includes Rebecca Naomi Jones and Damon Daunno; producers: Dean Sharenow, Daniel Kluger; On Broadway) (Decca Broadway)
Woes (Scottish pop-punk quartet) “Awful Truth” (producer: Seb Barlow; new single: “Monkey Shoe”; See here; Amazon UK; Vinyl; Download; iTunes) (UNFD)

New Releases (Downloads)

Artist: Title: Label:
The Aristocrats “You Know What …?” (CD, out July 12; On Tour) (Boing)
Cryptilians (Reno rock band) “Dead Before Easter” (producers: Richard Spagnola, Lanny Thomas Carey; first single: “Silver Girl”; See here) (CareyOkie)

Reissues (CDs / Vinyl)

Artist: Title: Label:
Bay City Rollers “The Singles Collection” (three CDs, 47 songs; Read here) (Glam / 7T’s)
The B-52’s “Cosmic Thing (30th Anniversary Expanded Edition)” (1989 album; remastered, with five remixes and B-sides and the previously unreleased 16-song album “Cosmic Tour: Live In Texas, 1990”; On Tour; Merch) (Rhino / Warner)
David Bowie “The Mercury Demos [Vinyl]” (recorded in spring 1969 with collaborator John “Hutch” Hutchinson on guitar and vocals; Read here; Merch) (Rhino / Parlophone)
Climax Blues Band “The Albums 1969-1972” (five-CD box set, featuring “The Climax Chicago Blues Band,” “Plays On,” “A Lot of Bottle,” “Tightly Knit” and “Rich Man,” with 18 bonus tracks; Read here; Amazon UK; On Tour) (Esoteric Recordings / Cherry Red)
Kylie Minogue “Step Back In Time: The Definitive Collection” (two-CD, 42-song compilation; Two-CD Casebound Book; Vinyl; Download; iTunes; On Tour; Merch) (BMG Rights Management)
Raven “Over the Top! Neat Years 1981-1984” (four-CD clamshell box set; Read here; Amazon UK) (HNE / Cherry Red)
Patrice Rushen “Remind Me: The Classic Elektra Recordings 1978-1984” (Hear here; Vinyl) (Strut)
Various artists “Motown: The Complete No. 1s” (2008 box set, expanded to 11 CDs, with six bonus tracks, to celebrate the label’s 60th anniversary; Amazon UK) (Motown / UMe)
Various artists “1977: The Year Punk Broke” (three-CD, 87-song compilation; Read here; Amazon UK) (Cherry Red)
Various artists “This Is It! More From The Van McCoy Songbook 1962-1977” (24 songs; Hear/read here) (Kent / Ace)
Various artists “Woodstock: Back to the Garden – 50th Anniversary Experience” (10-CD, 162-song box set features live recordings of every performer at the 1969 festival; See here; Vinyl; Merch) (Rhino / Atlantic)
Kathryn Williams “Anthology” (20-CD box set) (One Little Indian)

Next Week: July 5, 2019

May 17 | May 24 | May 31 | June 7 | June 14 | June 21

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About the Author

Gerry Galipault debuted Pause & Play online in October 1997. Since then, it has become the definitive place for CD-release dates — with a worldwide audience.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to Top ↑