New releases

Published on July 4th, 2019 | by Gerry Galipault


New Releases: July 5, 2019

New Releases (CDs / Vinyl)

Artist: Title: Label:
BTS “Lights / Boy With Luv” (new Japanese-original song “Lights,” with Japanese versions of “Boy With Luv” and “IDOL,” and a DVD that features music videos for “Lights” and “IDOL”; Hear here; CD, with DVD that features the making of the music video for “Lights” and a making of the jacket photos video; CD, without DVD; Merch) (UMe)
Joey Cape (of Lagwagon and Me First and the Gimme Gimmes) “Let Me Know When You Give Up” (Hear here; Read here; Vinyl; Download; On Tour) (Fat Wreck Chords)
Jesca Hoop “STONECHILD” (producer: John Parish; guests: Lucius, Kate Stables, Justis; first single: “Shoulder Charge”; Hear here; Vinyl; Download; iTunes; On Tour) (Memphis Industries)
Lighthouse Family “Blue Sky In Your Head” (their first album in 18 years; first single: “My Salvation”; Hear here; Download; iTunes) (Polydor)
Mark Mulcahy “The Gus” (guests: J Mascis, Rain Phoenix, John Panos, etc.; first single: “Taking Baby Steps”; See here; Download; iTunes; On Tour) (The Mezzotint Label)
Heather Newman “Rise From the Flames” (first single: “Lonely on Beale”; See here; Download) (VizzTone)
Pattern-Seeking Animals (featuring current and former Spock’s Beard members) “Pattern-Seeking Animals” (new single: “The Same Mistakes Again”; Hear here; See here; Vinyl; Download) (InsideOutMusic)
Skepta (Mercury Prize-winning grime artist) “Ignorance Is Bliss” (Download, released on May 31; iTunes) (Boy Better Know)
The Soft Cavalry (husband and wife duo of Steve Clarke and Slowdive’s Rachel Goswell) “The Soft Cavalry” (first single: “Dive”; Download) (Bella Union)
3TEETH (L.A. industrial rock band) “METAWAR” (producers: 3TEETH, Sean Beavan; first single: “AMERICAN LANDFILL”; Hear here; Vinyl; Download; iTunes; On Tour, with Ministry) (RED Music / Century Media)
Various artists “Stranger Things: Soundtrack from the Netflix Original Series, Season 3” (Vinyl, a mini-poster and bonus 7-inch vinyl single; Target-Exclusive Vinyl, red, white and blue splatter LP; Barnes & Noble-Exclusive Vinyl, with alternate cover; FYE-Exclusive Cassette; Download) (Legacy Recordings)
Other Notable Releases
“Outstrider,” Abbath (Season of Mist)
“Roots and Branches: The Songs of Little Walter,” Billy Branch & The Sons of Blues (Alligator)
“Pax Americana,” André Bratten (Smalltown Supersound)
“Travelling Salesman,” Brad Butcher (Millstream Music)
“Wild White Horses,” Heather Findlay (Black Sands)
“Live From Throckmorton Theatre,” Jackie Greene (Blue Rose Music)
“Volume 3,” Prettiest Eyes (Castle Face)
“No Refunds,” Doug Stanhope (Comedy Dynamics)
“The Regal Bastard,” Nad Sylvan (InsideOutMusic)
“Songs of the Century: A Tribute To Supertramp,” various artists (Purple Pyramid / Cleopatra)

More Releases for July 5, 2019 »

This Week’s Vinyl Releases »Exclusive Urban Outfitters Vinyl »FYE Exclusives »

New Releases (Downloads)

Artist: Title: Label:
The Bright Smoke “Gross National Happiness” (new single: “The Lion And”; Hear here; See here) (The Bang Bang Theory)
KOKOKO! (Congolese collective) “Fongola” (producer: Débruit; new single: “Buka Dansa”; CD, out July 19; Vinyl) (Transgressive / PIAS America)
Jaden Smith “ERYS” (guests: sister Willow Smith, Tyler the Creator, Kid Cudi, A$AP Rocky, Trinidad James; new single: “Again”; Hear here; Digital Deluxe Edition) (MSFTS Music / Roc Nation / Republic)

More Digital Releases for July 5, 2019 »

Reissues (CDs / Vinyl)

Artist: Title: Label:
Jackson Browne “Running On Empty” (1977 album; remastered; Amazon UK;; Vinyl; Download; On Tour; Merch) (Rhino / Elektra)
Valerie Carter “Ooh Child: The Columbia Years” (20 songs on one CD) (Cherry Tree)
Everything But the Girl “Amplified Heart (25th Anniversary Edition) [Vinyl]” (1994 album, making its debut on vinyl; mastered at half-speed for optimum audio fidelity by Miles Showell at London’s Abbey Road Studios; Hear here) (Buzzin’ Fly / Chrysalis)
Robert Forster (of The Go-Betweens) “The Evangelist” (2008 album; Vinyl; Download) (Tapete)
Groove Armada “The Remixes” (2000 compilation; Hear here) (Music on CD)
Ernie Kovacs “The Ernie Kovacs Album: Centennial Edition” (1977 album; remastered, with six previously unreleased tracks) (Omnivore Recordings)
Sigur Rós “Ágætis byrjun – A Good Beginning (20th Anniversary Edition)” (1999 album; remastered, with rarities, demos, unreleased music, live recordings, etc.; Hear here; Read here; Vinyl; Download; iTunes) (Krunk)
Various artists “Greatest Hits From Outer Space” (24-song collection, issued to mark the 50th anniversary of the moon landing; Hear/read here) (Ace, July 10)

More Releases for July 5, 2019 »

Reissues (Downloads)

Artist: Title: Label:
KC and the Sunshine Band “The Complete TK Albums” (60 songs; On Tour) (Warner Music Group / X5 Music Group)
KIX “The Atlantic Studio Albums” (49 songs; On Tour; Merch) (Warner Music Group / X5 Music Group)
Various artists “Punk Top 40” (39-song collection) (Warner Music Group / X5 Music Group)

More Digital Releases for July 5, 2019 »

Next Week: July 12, 2019

May 24 / May 31 / June 7 / June 14 / June 21 / June 28

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About the Author

Gerry Galipault debuted Pause & Play online in October 1997. Since then, it has become the definitive place for CD-release dates — with a worldwide audience.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to Top ↑


    Entertainment Weekly names Pause & Play one of “the 100 greatest Web sites”

  • Album Release Dates

    * Release dates are subject to change due to the ongoing impact of the COVID-19 pandemic

    Aug. 14, 2020 » Tori Kelly, Bruce Hornsby, Rumer, Gloria Estefan, Orville Peck, Johnny Hates Jazz, Kathleen Edwards, Biffy Clyro, Kiesza, Whitney, Caylee Hammack, BT, Tanya Donelly and The Parkington Sisters, Arlo McKinley, Son Lux, etc.

    Aug. 21, 2020 » The Killers, Tim McGraw, Erasure, Troye Sivan, Josh Turner, Bright Eyes, The Mavericks, Old 97’s, Cut Copy, The Dears, Secret Machines, The Waterboys, Mandy Barnett, AGES, Bully, Blues Pills, Nubya Garcia, etc.

    Aug. 28, 2020 » Katy Perry, Metallica, The Avett Brothers, KEM, Disclosure, Gregory Porter, My Morning Jacket, Toni Braxton, Angel Olsen, Bettye LaVette, The Allman Betts Band, Ledisi, Jason Mraz, The Score, Seether, Toots and the Maytals, etc.

    Sept. 4, 2020 » Sara Evans, Billy Ocean, Grant-Lee Phillips, Tricky, Hurts, Stryper, San Cisco, All Them Witches, JARV IS …, New Moon Jelly Roll Freedom Rockers, The Puppini Sisters, Throwing Muses, “AngelHeaded Hipster: The Songs of Marc Bolan & T. Rex,” Bill Callahan, Carolina Story, etc.

    More New Releases » Sept. 11 and Beyond: Lana Del Rey, The Flaming Lips, Doves, Elizabeth Cook, Roachford, Blitzen Trapper, Keith Urban, Yusuf/Cat Stevens, Cults, Liam Gallagher, Sufjan Stevens, Carrie Underwood, Bob Mould, Bon Jovi, BLACKPINK, Roger Waters, Dolly Parton, Brent Cobb, Aloe Blacc, Dawes, The Nude Party, Brothers Osborne, Loudon Wainwright III, Travis, Eagles, Tommy Lee, Steep Canyon Rangers, Joe Bonamassa, Sevendust, Blue October, Laura Veirs, Nothing But Thieves, Cam, Kylie Minogue, George Benson, and many more.

    More Upcoming Releases » Albums coming in 2020 but yet to be scheduled

    Elton John loves Pauseandplay.comDeals of the DayBest SellersSennheiser MOMENTUM 2 Wireless Over-Ear HeadphonesIE 400 Pro In-Ear Monitors

  • New Merch at Hot TopicSave on Tablets at Walmart.comBand T-ShirtsTurntables & AccessoriesHome Audio SystemsAmazon Tap $40 OffSave up to 90% on Textbooks

    NOTE: is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to and affiliated sites. We also participate in other affiliate programs.

  • Love We do, too … Help us keep it going. (Every little bit helps.) We ♥ u.

  • Recent Posts

  • Connect on Facebook

  • On Twitter