Pause & Play

New Releases: July 21, 2023

New Releases (CDs + Vinyl)

As December Falls “Join the Club” (new single: “Alive”; See here; Download; Apple Music; On Tour) As December Falls
Raquel Bitton “C’est Magnifique” (12-song collection of classic Latin-infused covers; producers: Bitton, Rafa Sardina; guests: Alex Acuña, Leo Amuedo, Rebeca Mauleon,Jimmy Branly, Oscar Stagnaro; Download; Apple Music) RB Records
Blur “The Ballad of Darren” (their first full-length album in eight years; producer: James Ford; recorded at Studio 13, London and Devon; first single: “The Narcissist”; See here; Read here; Amazon-Exclusive Red Vinyl; Amazon UK; Download; Apple Music; On Tour) Parlophone
Cut Worms “Cut Worms” (singer-songwriter Max Clarke’s third album; new single: “Ballad of the Texas King”; See here; Read here; Vinyl; Amazon UK; Cassette; Download; Apple Music; On Tour) Jagjaguwar
Greta Van Fleet “Starcatcher” (producer: Dave Cobb; recorded at RCA Studios in Nashville; new single: “Meeting the Master”; See here; Clear Vinyl; Amazon UK; Download; Apple Music; On Tour) Lava / Republic
Guided By Voices “Welshpool Frillies” (producer: Travis Harrison; new single: “Seedling”; Hear here; Vinyl; Download; Apple Music) GBV Inc.
The Isley Brothers “Make Me Say It Again, Girl” (their 32nd studio album; guests: Beyoncé, Earth, Wind & Fire, Snoop Dogg, Rick Ross, 2 Chainz, Trey Songz, Quavo, Takeoff, El DeBarge; Read here; Double Vinyl; On Tour) BFD
Oscar Lang “Look Now” (producer: Rich Turvey; guest: Molly Payton; new single: “A Song About Me”; See here; Vinyl; Amazon UK; Download; Apple Music; On Tour) Dirty Hit
The Lilac Time “Dance Till All the Stars Come Down” (their 11th album; new single: “A Makeshift Raft”; Hear here; Vinyl; Amazon UK; Download; Apple Music) POETICA
Nils Lofgren “Mountains” (producers: Nils and Amy Lofgren; guests: Neil Young, Ringo Starr, the late David Crosby, Cindy Mizelle, the Howard Gospel Choir, Ron Carter; new single: “Ain’t the Truth Enough”; Hear here; Vinyl) Cattle Track Road Records
Lori McKenna “1988” (producer: Dave Cobb; guest: Hillary Lindsey; new single: “Killing Me”; Hear here; Read here; Vinyl; Download; Apple Music; On Tour) CN Records / Thirty Tigers
Daryl Mosley “A Life Well Lived” (producers: Mosley, Danny Roberts; guests: Jaelee Roberts, Jeanette Williams, Ronnie Booth, Sarah Davidson, Riley Dotson; new single: “Mayberry State of Mind”; Hear here) Pinecastle
Mull Historical Society “In My Mind There’s a Room” (first new material from Colin MacIntyre in five years; producer: MacIntyre; new single: “1952,” with words by Scottish Poet Laureate Liz Lochhead; See here; Amazon UK; Download) Xtra Mile Recordings
Saint Agnes “BLOODSUCKERS” (new single: “Bloodsuckers”; See here; Amazon UK; Download; Apple Music) Spinefarm
Molly Tuttle & Golden Highway “City of Gold” (follow-up to her Grammy-winning “Crooked Tree” album; producers: Tuttle, Jerry Douglas; recorded at Nashville’s Sound Emporium Studios; new single: “El Dorado”; See here; Vinyl; Amazon UK; Download; Apple Music; On Tour) Nonesuch
Various artists “Barbie The Album” (Margot Robbie/Ryan Gosling film opens July 21, directed by Greta Gerwig; soundtrack includes Lizzo, Tame Impala, KAROL G, Ice Spice, Haim, Nicki Minaj, Charli XCX, Dominic Fike, et al; first single: Dua Lipa’s “Dance the Night”; Trailer; Pink Vinyl; Amazon-Exclusive Milky Clear Vinyl; Target-Exclusive Candy Floss Vinyl; Pink Cassette; Download; Apple Music; Merch) Atlantic
Various artists “Some Like It Hot (Original Broadway Cast Recording)” (nominated for 13 Tony Awards, including Best Musical; cast includes Christian Borle, J. Harrison Ghee and Adrianna Hicks; score by Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman; Tangerine Vinyl out Nov. 3; Download released on March 24) Concord Theatricals
Matt Von Roderick (jazz trumpeter-singer) “Celestial Heart” (guests: Jim Keltner, Mike Valerio, Gil Goldstein; new single: “Waking Up on Mars”; See here; Download; Apple Music) BFD

New Releases (Downloads)

The Arcadian Wild “Welcome” (new single: “Corner”; See here; Apple Music; On Tour) Vere Music
Lauren Auder “the infinite spine” (French baroque pop singer’s debut album; new singles: “hawthorne81” and “atoms”; See here; Apple Music) True Panther
Dante Bowe “Dante Bowe” (guests: Vic Mensa, Anthony B, Jekalyn Carr; new single: “Breaking All My Rules”; Hear here) TRUE Music
Cloudland Canyon “Cloudland Canyon” (new single: “Future Perfect [Bad Decision]”; See here) Medical Records
The Criticals “Front Door Confrontations” (Nashville rock duo’s label debut EP; new single: “Clever Girl”; See here; On Tour) Fantasy / Concord
Death Bells “Take My Spirit Now” (five-song EP; new single: “Take My Spirit Now”; See here; Apple Music) Dais
Adekunle Gold “Tequila Ever After” (Nigerian singer-songwriter’s label debut album; new single: “Ogaranya”; See here; On Tour) Def Jam, July 27
Kelsey Kindall “Bittersweet” (producer: Will Duncan; guests: Jude Barclay, STILL; new single: “Catch Me”; Hear here; Apple Music) Kelsey Kindall
Little Falls Trophy “Dutch Motel” (producer: band leader Doug Albregts; new single: “Autumn Audio”; Hear/Read here; Apple Music) Rock Ridge Music
ODESZA & Yellow House “Flaws in Our Design” (six-song collaborative EP; new single: “Heavier”; Hear here; On Tour) Foreign Family Collective / Ninja Tune
Paris Texas “MID AIR” (rap-rock duo’s debut album; new single: “Everybody’s Safe Until …”; Hear here; Apple Music) Paris Texas LLC

Reissues (CDs + Vinyl)

Dead or Alive “Let Them Drag My Soul Away: Singles, Demos, Sessions and Live Recordings 1979-1982” (three-CD collection; Read here; Red Vinyl; Amazon UK; Download) Cherry Red
Waylon Jennings “Lonesome, On’ry & Mean / Honky Tonk Heroes / This Time / The Ramblin’ Man” (1973-74 albums on two CDs; remastered, with bonus tracks; Amazon UK) BGO
Johnny’s Uncalled Four “The Lost Album” (14 previously unreleased tracks from the 1960s teen combo; See here; Vinyl; Amazon UK; Download; Apple Music) Wick / Daptone
Landscape “Landscape A Go-Go (The Story of Landscape 1977-83)” (five-CD box set features 84 songs, including their U.K. hits “Einstein a Go-Go” and “Norman Bates,” and 22 previously unreleased tracks; See here; Amazon UK) Cooking Vinyl
Gerald Levert “When It’s Right: The Anthology (1991-2007)” (three CDs, 45 tracks, including rarities and remixes; Read here; Amazon UK) SoulMusic / Cherry Red
Nina Simone “You’ve Got to Learn” (previously unreleased recording of her 1966 Newport Jazz Festival performance, including “Mississippi Goddam”; Hear here; Vinyl; Amazon UK; Download; Apple Music) Verve / UMe
Exit mobile version