Blog no image

Published on April 19th, 2018 | by Gerry Galipault


Illenium and co-writers take home ISC grand prize

Illenium not only won the EDM category in the renowned International Songwriting Competition, he landed the Grand Prize for “Crawl Outta Love,” featuring Annika Wells.

The Denver-based electronic dance artist (aka Nicholas Miller) shared the big win with co-writers Wells, Kate Morgan and Michael Biancaniello. Together, they earned $25,000 in cash and more than $35,000 in additional prizes.

“Crawl Outta Love” came from Illenium’s second album, “Awake,” released last September on his label Kasaya Recordings (via Seeking Blue Records). A Glitch Mob remix of the song was released in early March.

“I am so honored to win the International Songwriting Competition,” Illenium said in a statement. “”All the writers and I really fell in love with this song, and we’re happy that everyone loved it just as much!””

Illenium also took first place in Electronic Dance Music for his song “Fractures,” featuring Nevve. His co-writers were Keeley Bumford, Henri Lanz and William Rappaport. It also came from his album “Awake.”

The ISC, launched in 2002, received more than 16,000 entries from nearly 140 countries for its 2017 edition.

““This is the first time the Grand Prize has ever been given to an EDM song, so we are especially proud to recognize the genre by honoring such a great song by Illenium, one of EDM’s up-and-coming DJs and producers,”” said ISC founder and director, Candace Avery. ““The judges were unanimous in their lavish praise of this song, so the selection of the Grand Prize winner was a no-brainer this year.””

ISC honored 71 winners total, with prizes awarded to first, second and third place in 23 categories, plus the Grand Prize winner and the Peoples’ Voice winner, selected by public vote. Prizes included more than $175,000 in cash and merchandise. (Click here for the complete list of winners.)

Past ISC winners have included Vance Joy, Bastille, Passenger, Kate Miller-Heidke, Lindsey Stirling, Gotye, The Band Perry, Kasey Chambers, Lupe Fiasco, Rachel Bloom, Gin Wigmore, Kimbra, Gregory Porter, Kehlani, For King & Country, etc.

Tags: , , ,

About the Author

Gerry Galipault debuted Pause & Play online in October 1997. Since then, it has become the definitive place for CD-release dates — with a worldwide audience.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to Top ↑