New stuff

Artist:Title:Label/Due date:
Antibalas“Antibalas” (producer: Gabe Roth; Hear here; Vinyl; MP3 Download)(Daptone, Aug. 7, 2012)
Antony and the Johnsons“Cut the World” (live album, recorded last September in Europe; Hear here; Read here; Vinyl; MP3 Download)(Secretly Canadian, Aug. 7, 2012)
David Archuleta“Begin.” (all-covers album; Hear here; MP3 Download)(Highway, Aug. 7, 2012)
Apache Dropout“Bubblegum Graveyard” (Hear here; Vinyl; MP3 Download)(Trouble in Mind, Aug. 7, 2012)
Atlas Genius (Aussie indie-rock band)“Through the Glass [MP3 Download]” (four-song EP; Hear here)(Warner, Aug. 7, 2012)
Beat Connection (electro-pop quartet)“The Palace Garden” (first single: “The Palace Garden, 4am”; Hear here; See here)(U.K. – Tender Age/Moshi Moshi, Aug. 6, 2012)
Birdy“Live in London [MP3 Download]” (eight-song collection captures the British singer-songwriter’s at The Tabernacle on April 12, 2012; Hear here; See here)(Warner, Aug. 7, 2012)
Blonds“The Bad Ones [MP3 Download]” (producer: Nicolas Vernhes; first single: “Run”; Hear here; See here)(Gluck Music, Aug. 7, 2012)
Buffalo Killers“Dig. Sow. Love. Grow.” (first single: “Get It”; Hear here; Vinyl; MP3 Download)(Alive Naturalsound, Aug. 7, 2012)
Colt Ford“Declaration of Independence” (guests: Jason Aldean, Boyz II Men, Kix Brooks, Montgomery Gentry, Darius Rucker; first single: “Back,” with Jake Owens; Hear here; Read here; MP3 Download)(Average Joe’s Entertainment, Aug. 7, 2012)
Graham Gouldman (of 10cc)“Love and Work” (his first solo album in 12 years is dedicated to his former Wax band mate Andrew Gold; Gold appears on the album, playing piano and Dobro on “Cryin’ Time Again”; producer: Chris Braide; first single: “Daylight”; Hear here; MP3 Download)(U.K. – Rosala, Aug. 6, 2012)
Bruce Hornsby“Red Hook Summer: Music From The Original Motion Picture [MP3 Download]” (Spike Lee film opens in New York on Aug. 10 and nationwide in successive weeks; See here)(429, Aug. 7, 2012)
Ivan & Alyosha“All the Times We Had” (guest: Aimee Mann; Hear here)(Missing Piece, Aug. 7, 2012)
Nik Kershaw“Ei8ht [MP3 Download]” (first single: “The Sky’s the Limit”; Hear here; CD)(U.K. – Shorthouse, Aug. 6, 2012)
Lianne La Havas (U.K. folk-soul singer)“Is Your Love Big Enough?” (producer: Matt Hales; Hear here; MP3 Download)(Nonesuch, Aug. 7, 2012)
Los Straitjackets“Jet Set” (producer: Janne Haavisto; guests: The Basic Cable Horns from the “Conan” show, Irina Bjorklund; Hear here; See here; Vinyl; MP3 Download)(Yep Roc, Aug. 7, 2012)
Branford Marsalis Quartet“Four MFs Playin’ Tunes” (Hear here; Read here; MP3 Download)(Marsalis Music, Aug. 7, 2012)
Marcus Miller“Renaissance” (Hear here; MP3 Download)(Concord Jazz, Aug. 7, 2012)
Tak Matsumoto (guitarist for the Japanese pop/rock group B’z)“Strings of My Soul” (includes a cover of “Sukiyaki,” with Larry Carlton; producers: Matsumoto, Paul Brown, Robert Williams; Hear here; MP3 Download)(335, Aug. 7, 2012)
MuteMath“Odd Soul Live In DC [MP3 Download]” (Hear here)(Teleprompt/Warner, Aug. 7, 2012)
Niki and The Dove (Swedish duo)“Instinct” (Hear here; Read here; Vinyl; MP3 Download)(Sub Pop, Aug. 7, 2012)
Redd Kross“Researching the Blues” (their first album in 15 years; Hear here; Read here; Vinyl; MP3 Download)(Merge, Aug. 7, 2012)
The Reverend Peyton’s Big Damn Band“Between the Ditches” (producers: The Rev. Peyton, Paul Mahern; first single: “Devils Look Like Angels”; Hear here; MP3 Download)(SideOneDummy, Aug. 7, 2012)
Sixpence None the Richer“Lost in Transition” (first full-length album in 10 years; producer: Jim Scott; first single: “Radio”; Hear here; MP3 Download)(Tyger Jim, Aug. 7, 2012)
So Many Wizards (L.A. quartet)“Warm Nothing” (Hear here; Read here; MP3 Download)(JAXART/French Kiss Label Group, Aug. 7, 2012)
10 Years“Minus the Machine” (first single: “Backlash”; Hear here; See here; MP3 Download, with three bonus tracks)(Palehorse/ILG, Aug. 7, 2012)
Trishas, The (country quartet)“High, Wide & Handsome [MP3 Download]” (group Savannah Welch is the daughter of Kevin Welch; Hear here; Read here)(The Trishas Music, LLC, Aug. 7, 2012)
Various artists“NOW That’s What I Call Music! 43” (20 songs; Track list; MP3 Download)(Capitol, Aug. 7, 2012)
Elle Varner“Perfectly Imperfect” (producers: Varner, Pop & Oak; guests: J. Cole, T-Pain, Kirko Bangz, Bei Major; new single: “I Don’t Care”; Hear here; MP3 Download)(MBK/RCA, Aug. 7, 2012)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.