Published on December 1st, 2004 | by Gerry Galipault


All I want for Christmas is music and more music

Phil Tayler had plenty to be thankful for on Thanksgiving Day – and he isn’t asking for much this Christmas. He figures he’s already way ahead of the game.

Just a few years ago, Tayler unexpectedly found himself homeless in San Francisco after moving there from his native Buffalo, N.Y., to live with a relative, go to college and start a band. His relative kicked him out, leaving him to survive more than six months alone on the streets.

Today, he’s living his dream: fronting his own band, Future Leaders of the World. Powered by the radio-friendly first single “Let Me Out” (Hear here via iTunes), their GGGarth Richardson-produced album, “LVL IV” (Epic), has sold more than 30,000 copies since its Oct. 5 release.

“People have been through worst things than I have. I’m thankful to be supporting myself playing music,” Tayler said recently. “I’m just thankful to be alive and being able to feed my belly.”

In the tradition of Nirvana, Puddle of Mudd and Rage Against the Machine, Tayler’s passionate lyrics target injustice and corporate hypocrisy and even gives a little dig to popular music (“Kill Pop”).

Though his socially conscious songs reflect his struggles, Tayler says he’s not one to dwell on the past.

“My No. 1 focus is the band,” he said. “I’d like for us to one day to be a headlining band and have fans know every lyric on our albums. I’d like us to have our own studio some day, maybe even our own label.”

Beaming a day after receiving his first publishing-advance check, Tayler now has “money we can actually spend.” To celebrate, he helps ring in Pause & Play’s annual Get Me Music for the Holidays – a guide to help you shop for music lovers in your life.

BOX SETS: “The Nirvana box set might be cool,” Tayler said. “It has some bootleg stuff on there, which might be crap, but it’s still Nirvana. I’d also love to get that Miles Davis box. He’s a musical hero of mine. He was crazy. I can really relate to him.”

P&P recommends …


  • “With the Lights Out,” Nirvana (DGC/UME, released Nov. 23) – Three-CD, one-DVD collection features mostly previously unreleased tracks, spanning Nirvana’s entire career, from a recording of Led Zeppelin’s “Heartbreaker” at the band’s first show in 1987 to solo acoustic performances from leader Kurt Cobain in 1994.


Tags: ,

About the Author

Gerry Galipault debuted Pause & Play online in October 1997. Since then, it has become the definitive place for CD-release dates — with a worldwide audience.

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑


    Entertainment Weekly names Pause & Play one of “the 100 greatest Web sites”

  • Album Release Dates

    * Release dates are subject to change due to the ongoing impact of the COVID-19 pandemic

    March 5, 2021 » Kings of Leon, Chevelle, Zara Larsson, A Day to Remember, Neil Young, Chase Atlantic, Gabrielle, Teenage Fanclub, Pat Metheny, Elizabeth and the Catapult, Jimbo Mathus & Andrew Bird, Visionist, etc.

    March 12, 2021 » Selena Gomez, Nick Jonas, Rob Zombie, Valerie June, Andra Day, Saga, The Paper Kites, Butch Walker, Strawbs, Lake Street Dive, Jane Monheit, Israel Nash, Witch Camp, Pino Palladino and Blake Mills, James Levy, etc.

    March 19, 2021 » Lana Del Rey, Ringo Starr, Loretta Lynn, Harry Connick Jr., Sting, Ryan Adams, Steve Earle & The Dukes, Jon Batiste, Middle Kids, The Snuts, Serj Tankian, Chad VanGaalen, etc.

    March 26, 2021 » Carrie Underwood, Evanescence, First Aid Kit, AJR, Suzi Quatro, FITZ, Ben Howard, Tower of Power, Death From Above 1979, Tune-Yards, Sara Watkins, The Antlers, SG Lewis, etc.

    More New Releases » April 2 and Beyond: Mark Bryan, Richie Furay, Leslie Jordan, Flock of Dimes, Dry Cleaning, Haunted Shed, La Femme, Sturgill Simpson, Bryce Dessner with the Australian String Quartet, Al Stewart, Taylor Swift, Cheap Trick, Rhiannon Giddens with Francesco Turrisi, Merry Clayton, Fleetwood Mac, Parker Millsap, Eric Church, Greta Van Fleet, The Offspring, Escape the Fate, Tom Jones, Peter Frampton, Todd Snider, Dinosaur Jr., Sir Sly, Dumpstaphunk, Marianne Faithfull, Mick Fleetwood & Friends, Thomas Rhett, Birdy, The Dropkick Murphys, Shovels & Rope, Teenage Fanclub, The Coral, Royal Blood, Miranda Lambert with Jack Ingram and Jon Randall, Van Morrison, New Order, Nancy Wilson, The Mighty Mighty Bosstones, Travis Tritt, St. Vincent, Del Amitri, Paul Weller, The Chills, Juliana Hatfield, David Gray, Gary Numan, John Hiatt with The Jerry Douglas Band, Mat Kearney, Ashley McBryde, Shannon McNally, Crowded House, James, Tristen, Wolf Alice, AFI, Joshua Radin, Ora The Molecule, Maggie Rose, and many more.

    More Upcoming Releases » Albums coming in 2021 but yet to be scheduled

    Elton John loves Pauseandplay.comDeals of the DayBest SellersSennheiser MOMENTUM 2 Wireless Over-Ear HeadphonesIE 400 Pro In-Ear Monitors

  • New Merch at Hot TopicSave on Tablets at Walmart.comBand T-ShirtsTurntables & AccessoriesHome Audio SystemsAmazon Tap $40 OffSave up to 90% on Textbooks

    NOTE: is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to and affiliated sites. We also participate in other affiliate programs.

  • Love We do, too … Help us keep it going. (Every little bit helps.) We ♥ u.

  • Recent Posts

  • Connect on Facebook

  • On Twitter